Catching Up


We’ve got some serious catching up to do.  It’s been 10 days since my last post and to be honest – not only have I been super busy, but I just haven’t been in the blogging mood.  However, since I’ve got some fun stuff to share from the past few days I’ve decided today’s the day to break my 10-day non-blogging streak.

The Saturday before last was spent on the lake with Mike’s family at an annual summer party.  As usual, the weather was gorgeous and the company was wonderful.  We spent the whole day catching up with family, chatting about all the new babies in the fam, swimming in the lake, eating delicious summertime food and playing games.

Grace, little brother Jack, Chase, Piper, little sister Amelia, Caiden, Landon, Keira and Jane.... PHEW that's alotta babies!!

My sister (in-law) Jackie... Nice face.

Mike & jeff making up the rules as we went along...

*     *     *     *     *

Also during my mini break from blogging I managed to snap a picture of a pretty rockin’ dinner – Mike’s suggestion – of baked salmon, peas, rice and garlic bread.  Here’s his plate.

It was just too pretty not to take a picture.  And it tasted just as good as it looks.

*     *     *     *     *

Woman Weekend

My weekend was spent soaking up the Boston sun with my two sisters Danielle and Jackie.  Each year around this time Danielle’s boyfriend goes on a “Man Weekend” trip with his buddies where they just do man things and drink beer for 3 days straight.  Well, Danielle, who lives in Boston, decided to have Jackie and I come up to visit her for our own little mini Woman Weekend – the first of MANY more to come.

When Jackie and I arrived in Boston, we grabbed Danielle and headed out for some lunch to fuel our afternoon shopping plans.  We decided on Devlin’s, an Irish pub just around the corner from Danielle.

I opted for the eggs Benedict  with a side of fresh fruit and home fries.  Every last morsel was devoured!!


After our tummies were sufficiently full we headed out to Newbury Street to shop, shop, and do a little more shopping for the afternoon.  But first, we hit up Starbucks.  It basically goes hand in hand with shopping when it comes to these three.

Classic Jackie face I suppose.

I wish we could have stayed out on Newbury Street longer.  There were so many more shops I would have loved to go into.  It’s impossible to fit all that shopping into just one short afternoon, though.

We decided to head back to Danielle’s apartment to grab her friend and roommate and hit the liquor store for some vino and the grocery store for some chips and dip before getting ready for our night out on the town.  While we sipped our wine and munched on our snacks, we beautified ourselves and caught the city bus and subway to our special dinner destination:  Cuchi Cuchi.

Danielle and Jackie have been raving about this place for years.  I was SO excited to check it out.  It was absolutely more than I could have ever dreamed up.  The restaurant was unlike any I’ve ever been to before.  The decor was amazing – vintage and Hollywood style decorations gave the small place its charm.  The waitresses were dressed up like actors from the 1950s.  It was a such a girlie and magical place!

The five of us girls decided to share a total of seven small dishes for dinner.  Though each dish was small, we were all entirely satisfied by the end of dinner.

We shared:

Fried artichoke hearts filled w/ gorgonzola, pistachios & basil

Duck a l'Orange Crepes with citrus & fennel vinaigrette

Brie en Croûte - Brie, walnuts, bacon in puff pastry

Gratin Dauphinois - baked thin-sliced potatoes, onions, cheese & cream

Grilled Eggplant Napoleon

Bliny - Pancakes w/mushroom filling; topped w/sour cream & caviar

Mushroom Risotto

Everything was made to perfection.  A couple of us at the table actually commented on how well everything was made because we didn’t need to salt or pepper a single thing.  It was all perfectly seasoned and flavorful.  How do they do that?!

Of course, we couldn’t walk away from this gem of a restaurant without indulging in some serious desserts.  We all shared the banana bread with grilled bananas, vanilla ice cream and whipped cream as well as some chocolate cake with cherries and cherry chocolate sauce.  Both were magnificent.  Both left us all feeling like we needed to be rolled out of the joint.

After lots of chatting we headed out with the promise of coming back REALLY soon… because it was that good.  We ended up grabbing a couple drinks at the Green Briar – another Irish pub close to my sister’s apartment.  They had a live band playing popular cover songs and lots of dancing.  We stayed until last call and then finally walked back to Dan’s apartment where we watched some Jersey Shore and then crashed!!

We all slept in til about 10am… GLORIOUS, I tell you!!  Don’t get me wrong – I certainly missed Mike and Keira but I cannot tell a lie: sleeping soundly until that late in the morning was just what I needed.  It also didn’t hurt that upon waking, Danielle already had the coffee going.  LOVED IT!

We all threw some clothes on and walked to a local cafe that both Danielle and Jackie have raved about in the past.  I was so excited to get some grub, I didn’t even care where we went.

This place… was Heaven.  Seriously.  If I could picture my Heaven – this is what it would look/taste/smell like.  Cafenation was everything the girls had talked about and more.  It literally took a good 20 minutes for me to figure out what I wanted because every single thing on the menu sounded amazing.  I finally went with the Garden Deluxe omelet crepe – an egg omelet filled with broccoli, peppers, onions and cheese wrapped in a warm crepe with a side of cantaloupe.  Jackie and I split a side of rosemary roasted breakfast potatoes as well as a small Spiced Apple & Brie crepe which was a hot crepe stuffed with sliced granny smith apples & brie cheese drizzled with honey and dusted with cinnamon and nutmeg.

I washed it all down with the best iced mocha coffee I’ve ever had in my life.  It puts Dunkin Donuts iced mocha to SHAME.  I debated on whether or not I should buy another one for the ride back but determined that if I did that, I would be uncomfortably stuffed.  Everything was purely amazing.  My tummy has never been so happy (or FULL!).

How’s all that for catching up??  Hope you enjoyed drooling over my weekend eats… and with that I’m going to go make some dinner!!  Happy Almost Hump Day, everybody!

4 thoughts on “Catching Up

Leave a Reply

