Ice Cream Before Dinner


Well it’s been a little while since my last post.  I had a busy weekend spending time with Mike and Keira which was great.  I’ve also been logging in lots of miles and even pushed myself to complete an 8-mile run two mornings in a row.  My confidence builds more and more with each long run I take.  High numbers used to scare me – as far as miles go – but now I just look at them as challenges, but ones I know I can overcome.  Lately I’ve been thinking about registering for a half marathon but would like to see myself hit 10 miles first before signing up.  It’s not that I don’t think I can do it, I just want to see how it feels to bang out a double digit run before I sign up for the 13+ mile race.

Saturday night was so much fun – one of the best Saturdays I’ve had in a while.  Keira and I watched Mike play some volleyball with a few of his coworkers and all the while she yelled out “go Daddy!!”  It was pretty adorable.

Mike worked up quite the appetite and so while debating what we would have for dinner, we decided to do something we used to do all the time when we were dating:  figure out what dinner would be over some ice cream.  It was so much fun!!  We haven’t done that in the longest time.  It’s even how Mike proposed to me:  ice cream sundaes on the beach at sunset right before going out to a nice restaurant for dinner.  I got vanilla ice cream with fudge and peanuts and Mike ordered a vanilla cone dipped in cherry sauce.  Keira stole bites from Mike’s ice cream cone even though we got her her own!!

We decided on PIZZA for dinner and picked it up on the way home.  Keira ate 3 whole slices and asked for a fourth!!  Since neither Mike nor I wanted her to get a massive stomach ache right before bed, we told her she could have fruit instead.  What a piggy.

Last night was a real treat as well.  We went downtown for the evening.  Again, we got ice cream before dinner!!  Keira now asks for dessert before dinner… this is not good.  Then we decided to grab a bite to eat at Besito – a nice Mexican restaurant that both Mike and I have wanted to try.  We sat outside and it was gorgeous out.  We all worked on some chips with table side guacamole and salsa while waiting on our entrees.

Guac not pictured 😦

Mike ordered the Tacos De Res – steak slices with cheese, pico de gallo and jalapeno with a side of re-fried beans and rice.

I had the Budin De Mariscos – a shrimp and jumbo lump crab tortilla pie with layers of spicy tomato salsa and cheese and baked in a poblano cheese sauce.

Everything was delicious and was devoured completely.  It all just hit the spot.  It was especially nice to enjoy our meal outside on the patio on such a nice evening.

This morning my alarm was set for an embarrassingly early time but I must have hit it and gone back to sleep without realizing it because I didn’t wake up until 5:50.  I guess I was just really tired because last night I passed right out (after a good couple episodes of shark week with Mike!!) and also because the last few days I’ve been running between 6 and 8 miles each morning.  My body was definitely just telling me to sleep in a little bit which felt nice.  When I woke up, though, I was craving a run – even if it was a small one.  Since I wanted to be back at the house by no later than 6:35, I challenged myself to do 4 miles in under 40 minutes.  Goal met!  I completed 4.18 miles in 38 minutes and 10 seconds.  As soon as I got home I hopped in the shower, threw some clothes on and by then Keira had just woken up.  Perfect timing!!

Breakfast was simple this morning:  Cinnamon Puffins with banana slices, and almond milk.  I had blueberry yogurt on the side and my trusty cup of coffee, too.

Miss Keira dove into a plate of homemade pancakes in a pool of maple syrup.

She ate every last bite!!  I’d say we both properly fueled up for our morning errands.  Better get to them!  Have a good Wednesday, all.

One thought on “Ice Cream Before Dinner

Leave a Reply

