Oatmeal Pancakes


As promised, a new recipe was tried (and LOVED) this morning and has been added to my recipe list – and really should be added to your favorites as well!

This morning I did something a little different with my run.  I had planned on doing my “just over 4 miles” route but instead of running at my comfortable pace, I picked it up a notch, broke out of my comfort zone and pushed harder than I normally do.  I ended up finishing 4.34 miles in 39 minutes and 2 seconds which is a pace of 8.9 minutes per mile.  I was happy with that considering the route I took had a couple good hills – one especially steep one!  I can’t tell you how good it felt to get my heart pumping like that.  A sweaty and fast run that leaves me panting and my heart pounding is just what I need sometimes.

When was the last time you had pancakes for breakfast?  Probably a lot more recently than I have.  I honestly cannot even remember the last time I had pancakes.  Maybe around Christmas time?  That has to be a record or something – at least for me.  This morning, I broke that tragic record and made oatmeal pancakes which I found off of the bodybuilding.com website.  I love their site because they’ve got great recipes and really good fitness advice worth reading.  I tend to “trust” their information above some other websites.

I love this recipe because it doesn’t call for any white or wheat flour.  I love that the flour used here comes from rolled oats.  Oats are one of the healthiest foods you can put into your body because not only are they a great source of fiber, they have a good amount of protein and keep you full for a long, long while because they take a long time to digest.

Since I was only making pancakes for one I cut the recipe in half.  Here’s exactly what I did but you can find the original recipe here.

Oatmeal Pancakes

Ingredients:

½ cup milk (I used unsweetened almond milk but any milk will do)

1/3 cup rolled oats

1/3 cup oat flour (To make oat flour; simply add your oats to a blender or food processor and grind until it reaches a flour-like consistency)

½ tsp. baking powder

1/8 tsp. salt

2 large egg whites

½ tsp. ground cinnamon (I used 1/8 tsp. and they came out perfectly spiced)

Optional (but highly recommended!) toppings and/or ad-ins:  banana slices, blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, any kind of nut butter, etc.  Have fun with them!!

Directions:

1.  Heat milk in small saucepan until hot and stir in rolled oats.  Set aside.  The oats should absorb all of the liquid.

2.  Beat egg whites into stiff foam with hand mixer or blender and reserve.

3.  Mix remaining dry ingredients together and stir in oatmeal/milk mixture.

4.  Fold in egg whites until mixture is well blended.  Your batter will not resemble the kind of pancake batter you’re used to because the egg whites make it much more fluffy.

5.  Spray pan with nonstick cooking spray and cook pancakes until browned on both sides.  You will have to kind of “shape” the pancakes once they go onto the pan because they are not runny like normal pancake batter.

I added lots of frozen/thawed blueberries and banana slices to mine with a healthy drizzle of maple syrup.  WOW.  This is a keeper… wish I had used the original recipe to store the leftovers in the freezer for some quick pancakes anytime I want.  Ya live, ya learn!

Enjoy!!

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Pancakes

Leave a Reply

