I’m Pretty Boring But Lemon Bars Aren’t


So today… I’ve got nothin’.  I guess you could say I’m pretty boring.  Though I did read up on a few enticing recipes I plan on trying in the very near future, I didn’t make any new ones today.  In fact, I stuck with the same old veggie and egg white omelet sandwich for breakfast, a big fat bowl of PB&J overnight oats for lunch and spaghetti squash with meatless meatballs for dinner.  Boom, boom and boom.  Don’t get me wrong – each and every bite I took today was absolutely delicious and hit the spot pretty darn good.  It’s just that I’ve been repeating these meals quite a bit lately and I’m ready for some variety.  So my goal for this week is to make two new dishes to add to my ever growing recipes list.

I wanted to post SOMETHING worthwhile tonight besides for my boring day of eats and so I dug through my recipes file on my computer and came across a seriously decadent dessert that would be entirely selfish of me not to share with you.  This past Father’s Day I made a tray of lemon bars for my father-in-law.  He loves sweets – in fact I believe he has the strongest, biggest, most out of control sweet tooth of anyone I’ve ever met in my life.  These are one of his favorite desserts (or breakfasts..) and they are SO simple to make.

Lemon Bars – Yields 12

For the crust:

1 stick softened butter

1/2 cup white sugar

2 cups all-purpose flour

For the lemony top:

4 eggs

1 1/2 cups white sugar

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

2 lemons, juiced

Powdered sugar, for dusting

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  Using an electric hand-held mixer, mix together the butter, sugar and flour.  Press into the bottom of a greased baking pan (I used a 9 x 13 ceramic dish).  Bake for 15-20 minutes until firm.

3.  While the crust is baking add eggs, sugar, flour and lemon juice in to a clean bowl.  Whisk until well combined.  Pour mixture over your baked crust and stick it back into the oven for 22 minutes.

When I took it out of the oven, I felt like they still needed more time but followed the recipe exactly.  Within a few minutes of cooling I could tell that it was beginning to firm up.  Just let the dish cool to room temp before cutting and they should be easy to remove from the dish.

4.  Dust the bars lightly with powdered sugar.

This dessert is both sweet and tart – a beautiful combination.  Truth be told – I’ve literally only had one half of one of these bars EVER in my life.  Why?  Because I absolutely do NOT trust myself around these babies.  Nope.  Not for one second.

So you see, I managed to turn a totally blah post into a way more sweet (and lemony!) one tonight.  A job well done, if I do say so myself 🙂

Goodnight, all!

Leave a Reply

