Vegetarian Cobb Salad


After spending the entire morning with Keira’s help cleaning up my house (think floors, bathroom, bedrooms, counter tops), organizing (think kitchen cabinets, clothes drawers, pantry) and doing lots of laundry (think clothes, Keira’s sheets, MY sheets, towels) I was so busy I didn’t even reach for a mid-morning snack.  Keira’s and my appetites were super strong by 12:30 and so I made her some chicken nuggets with corn, peaches and a cookie for dessert – all of which she gobbled up at lightning speed.  A tall sippie of ice cold milk washed it all down before nap time and I haven’t heard a peep since!

I took a wild guess with what I might be craving for lunch this morning and I hit it dead on target because by lunchtime I was still yearning for a big Cobb salad.

A colorful meal is a healthy meal!

You’re looking at:

4 Baby carrots, shredded

1 tbsp. goat cheese

1/4 cup sweet corn

1 hard boiled egg white

A little bit of red onion, chopped

All ingredients were served over a bed of washed and chopped romaine lettuce.  A drizzle of extra light olive oil, a few drops of red wine vinegar and a pinch of salt and pepper completed this salad!  I gave it a good toss and dug right in.

I also heated up a bowl of minestrone soup (I know – it’s the middle of July and I’m eating soup… but it goes SO WELL with the salad!) to go with it and added a handful of steamed broccoli.  You can never have too many vegetables in any meal!

I hope everyone is staying cool in this brutal heat.  When Keira wakes up I think we’ll attempt to run a couple errands since we spent the morning inside.  Wish us luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

