No Muss, No Fuss


Good morning!  Last night I slept pretty terribly and so when my alarm went off at 4:45AM I quickly decided my usual run and kickboxing routine I had planned for today would be out of the question and moved to tomorrow morning instead.  I didn’t have a rest day last week and so today shall be my rest day.

The theme of this post will be “no muss, no fuss” and here’s why:  For breakfast I had a good old fashioned heaping bowl of cereal and a sliced banana drowning in a bowl of almond milk with a raspberry “yogurt” on the side.  I love this “yogurt” because it’s dairy free, soy free and made with delicious coconut milk instead of cow’s milk.  It hit the spot.

I just really wasn’t in the mood for whipping up anything fancy this morning after a very restless night.  After looking around my cupboard for some good breakfast eats, I came up with the combination of Puffins Cinnamon cereal and Puffins Peanut Butter cereal.  GREAT idea on my part.  Coffee accompanied this no fuss breakfast that left my tummy full and my soul happy!

Mike came home late last night and so I prepared for him a couple of pulled-chicken sandwiches with corn on the cob and steamed broccoli to leave in the microwave for when he got home. He raves about this dinner every time he has it and it’s so simple (hence the “no muss, no fuss theme”!) that I don’t feel worthy of accepting such praise.

Pulled-Chicken Sandwich

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Lightly season chicken breast with salt and pepper. Bake for 25-35 minutes or until cooked through. Baking time depends on the size of the chicken breasts.

3. When the chicken is cooked through, take out of the oven and let cool for a few minutes. Using two forks, shred the chicken into stringy-ish pieces.

4. Throw the chicken pieces into a small saucepan over low-medium heat and add as much of your favorite BBQ as you desire. Stir it around making sure to evenly coat all the chicken.

5. Toast a burger roll (we like the whole wheat ones from Trader Joe’s) and pile the pulled-chicken on there. Enjoy!

I LOVE cooking and meal-making and experimenting but sometimes I just feel like throwing some stuff together and hoping it turns out well.  Mike’s dinner last night and my breakfast this morning = success!

Today’s lunch will most likely consist of a homemade vegetarian Cobb salad and dinner will be leftovers – spaghetti squash with meat(less) balls – YUM!  It’s a no muss, no fuss kind of day!  Happy Wednesday!!

One thought on “No Muss, No Fuss

Leave a Reply

