Spaghetti Squash with Meat(less) Balls!


Good evening!  First let’s go over last night’s (beautiful) dinner of mine.  I had a fillet of cod (seasoned with salt, pepper and lemon juice) with a baked sweet potato and a summer salad of romaine, goat cheese, walnuts, strawberries and blueberries dressed in lite raspberry vinaigrette.

Delicious and nutritious!

This morning I got back on the weights wagon after completing a 4 mile run.  My shoulders and arms were begging for a good workout and that’s exactly what they got.  A quick 15-minute ab routine rounded out my workout and I was off to shower and get the coffee brewing.

It’s been a HOT week and I foresee more heat in my future… That being said, Keira may or may not have had ice cream for breakfast.

An ice cream breakfast for my 2 1/2 year old either earns me the Best Mother of the Year award or the Worst Mother of the Year award.  Hey, it’s the middle of July and she’s just really too cute to say no to!!!

Tonight I’m so excited to share with you how to make spaghetti squash with meat(less) balls in a marinara sauce that I loaded with veggies!

I made Keira and Mike pasta and meatballs last night for dinner while I had the fish/potato/salad I just mentioned above.  Yes, I do make everyone different meals according to what they like and since I tend to stay away from meat, I am usually making different things for everyone – and that’s just fine by me!  I love cooking and really don’t mind making separate meals.  Also, sometimes Mike isn’t even home by the time I eat dinner (around 7:30 or so) and so I take my time making what I want and then work on his afterward with my sous chef Keira.

Anyhow, the smell of the marinara sauce last night really made me miss the taste of old fashioned pasta and meatballs drowning in a pool of good marinara sauce.  I researched healthier versions of the dish with vegetables as the star and I was inspired to try making spaghetti squash with meat(less) balls!  I think what I love most about the traditional spaghetti and meatballs meal is the sauce – I really don’t care what kind of pasta is underneath it all so I figured I’d give this a shot.

How to cook spaghetti squash:

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2.  Using a skewer prick the squash all over so that the heat from inside has somewhere to go and you avoid a squash explosion.

3.  When the oven is preheated, place squash on a baking sheet and into the oven for 1 hour.

4.  Upon taking it out of the oven, be very careful as it will be extremely hot.  Let it rest for a good 10 minutes or so before you cut it lengthwise in half.

5.  Scoop out the seeds and trash ’em.  Then take your fork and gently scrape the inside of the squash into a bowl or onto a plate – and voila!  There’s your spaghetti squash!!

This is just one half of the squash!

I dressed mine up with meat(less) balls in traditional marinara sauce that I “beefed up” with more vegetables: half a zucchini, sliced mushrooms and a handful of steamed broccoli.

I paired this dish with a big ‘ol salad of romaine, red onions and shredded Pecorino Romano cheese dressed in a splash extra light olive oil, red wine vinegar and a sprinkle of salt, to taste.  A glass of water washed it all down and I was a happy camper!

An added bonus to this meal?  Stellar leftovers for lunch tomorrow 🙂

Have a great night, all!

4 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash with Meat(less) Balls!

  1. Pingback: Page not found |

  2. Pingback: No Muss, No Fuss |

  3. Pingback: One Hot Summer Side & One Cold |

  4. Pingback: I’m Pretty Boring But Lemon Bars Aren’t |

Leave a Reply

