Strawberry-Banana Protein Smoothie, Guac & a Quick Rant


Yikes!  I’m posting so much later than usual!  I have a good reason for it: while Keira went to dreamland during nap time, so did this mama.  I usually post around nap time because it’s nice and quiet and there is nothing to distract me from writing but today I crashed.  I guess my body needed it even after sleeping in yesterday!

This morning was more of an easy workout for me.  I completed a 4 1/2 mile run and had planned on doing arms, shoulders and abs afterward but decided against it once I got back to my house.  My stomach was all over the place and lifting weights just did not appeal to me.  I knew if I had pushed myself to do them, I would most likely end up hurting myself or just plain slack off and not get in the proper workout so I skipped it altogether and will get back on track tomorrow morning.

Keira and I had some errands to run this morning so after she finished her breakfast of Nutella and peanut butter on toast and I finished mine of egg whites with veggies on toast and hummus, I whipped up a quick strawberry-banana protein smoothie to take with us on the road.  Keira had a few good sips of it, too, which were always followed by a “mmm that’s goooood.”

Don’t let the poor picture quality fool you – It was pink and delicious.

Ingredients:

1 frozen banana, sliced

4 Frozen strawberries

1 Cup almond milk

1 Scoop vanilla protein powder

3 Ice cubes

A pinch of xanthan gum (for thickening)

Directions:

Blend all the ingredients together until smooth and enjoy!  You may have to add some water to thin it out a bit or you could eat it with a spoon like fro-yo 🙂

Lunch today was more than exciting.  Guacamole with jalapeno chips, refried beans and cheese.  Let me just say that I have not had this meal in at least 6 months.  My sister Jackie and I used to make this for lunch almost every time we got together.  To be completely honest here, I really just forbid myself from having it over the last 6 months due to my personal diet restrictions and weight issues.  I know that the ingredients are good for you but they also scared me at the same time.  Avocados are full of nutrients but are high in fat — the good kind, but fat nonetheless.

I have been convinced this whole time since changing my eating habits that this meal would sabotage my results.  Deprivation can only last so long before it leads one to give in – at least for me.  I’m finally coming around to genuinely realizing that as long as there’s balance and moderation, no food or meal is off limits.

My sister’s famous guacamole – she gets ALL the credit on this one.

Ingredients:

2 ripe avocados

1 small tomato

1/2 a large onion

1 jalapeno pepper, finely chopped

Handful of cilantro

The juice of about 1/2 a lime or to taste

Salt, curry, cumin and cayenne pepper to taste

Lots of chips of your choice

Refried beans (optional)

Cheese of your choice (optional)

Directions:

1.  Finely chop up tomato, onion, jalapeno and cilantro and set aside.

2.  Halve the avocados and scoop out the “meat” into a bowl and mash with a spoon or fork.  I like it more chunky than smooth!

3.  Add tomato, onion, jalapeno and cilantro to the avocado mixture and stir until all is well incorporated.

4.  Add spices and lime juice to taste.

5.  Top chips with refried beans and cheese and zap in the microwave for about 1 minute or until hot and melty.

6.  Dig in!

Brittany from A Healthy Slice of Life hit the nail right on the head with her latest post about how healthy living does not need to be extreme and it only further encouraged me to let go of my silly insecurities and instead welcome a more balanced approach to my eating habits.  It’s a work in progress but I’m proud of how far I’ve come.  I went from an unhealthy diet of processed “foods”, soda, white carbs and junk food to a diet chock full of water, vegetables, fruits, fish, whole grains, and whole FOODS!  It’s been more than a rewarding experiece, to say the least, and I’ve got the results to remind myself of it.  I feel like I’ve found my niche and that is to nourish my body with foods that lead to good health and happiness and enjoy the occasional indulgence to the fullest!

Whew… sometimes I just have all these feelings and can’t help but pour them out of my head and into my blog.  That’s what blogs are for, right?!  I promise tomorrow’s post will be more uplifting!  I’ve got a super new meal in mind for dinner and I’m eager to experiment!

Leave a Reply

