My Take on Overindulging


Good morning, all!  I have to admit that I am a little tired this morning.  Went to bed super duper late last night because for the first time in a VERY long time, Mike and I went to the movies to see Horrible Bosses.  It was very funny – raunchy, but funny nonetheless.  Maybe I thought it was so raunchy because I’m used to shows like Bubble Guppies and Yo Gabba Gabba.  I can’t remember the last time I watched anything above a PG rating.  Seriously.

The windows in our room at my in-laws were open all night (what a gorgeous night, right?) and so this morning I was greeted with the sound of birds chirping.  I couldn’t get back to sleep and felt kind of antsy so I laced up and hit the pavement.  Given the fact I was still tired, I was surprised as to how glorious the run turned out to be.  It was chilly out but I felt comfortable with shorts, a light sweatshirt and a hat.  The 5 miles went by exceptionally fast.  Before I knew it I was back in the driveway and headed inside to get a quick ab workout in.

Yesterday afternoon was great.  My sister and I took the kids to the farmers market in town which was so cool.  The farmers markets where I live are dinky and weak.  This one was so enjoyable and I suppose it helped that the sun was out but the temp was comfortable.

The kiddos said hi to the baby goats…

… and ate their cookies on the grass together.

Cookies make me smile, too.

The sweets table was calling my name and although I could have easily housed a tray of raspberry bars they had sitting there, I opted for a sampling of the blueberry cobbler to satisfy that urge.

I ended up walking away with a jar of raspberry jam (for my PB&J overnight oats, of course!!) and two huge yellow squash to make this beauty of a dish:

Summer Squash Casserole

Remember when I raved about the casserole I had at my cousin’s graduation party?  I originally thought the party was catered because the food was outrageously tasty.  My aunt read the blog and let me know that it was not catered and that her sisters had made all the food.  She sent me the recipe for this casserole yesterday… so I made it last night to go with the rest of the birthday party leftovers.  Even though I tweaked the recipe slightly, it still came out just as delicious as it was the first time I had it.

Summer Squash Casserole

Ingredients:

2 lb yellow squash, thinly sliced

18 oz bread crumbs (stuffing) – I could only find a 14 oz bag.

1small jar pimentos – Do these actually exist??  I couldn’t find them at Stop & Shop and my sister went to Whole Foods and couldn’t find them there either…. so I omitted them entirely.

1 can cream of chicken soup – I chose to go with 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup to make it more vegetarian friendly.

1 8 oz sour cream – I used fat free sour cream.

1 small onion, finely chopped

1 stick butter – I used 2 tbsp. of extra light olive oil in place of the butter.

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  Saute onion in melted butter olive oil until tender.

3.  Bring large pot of water to a boil and add the squash.  Cook until squash is very tender and drain thoroughly.

4.  Throw all the ingredients together in a large bowl and mix well until combined.

5.  Put the mixture into a greased baking dish and cover with tin foil.

6.  Bake for 30 minutes, remove foil and continue baking for another 15 minutes until the edges are browned.

Everyone here absolutely loved it.  There is only a tiny amount sitting in the fridge leftover right now.  Even Mike tried it and was impressed and he despises sour cream.  It tastes like Thanksgiving stuffing.   Here’s my plate… I probably ended up having about 3x that amount by the end of dinner. No, I’m not joking.

Thank you, Aunt Mary & Sisters for this recipe!

Even though the rest of my plate was filled with a light salad, broccoli and flounder fillet, I felt like I had really overindulged in the casserole.  As I cleaned up the kitchen I started mindlessly snacking on cashews and chocolate covered raisins here and there.  It wasn’t that I was still hungry – I just wasn’t full (hard to imagine considering all the casserole I devoured).  I hate not feeling full after a complete meal especially with how much food I actually ate.  I felt like I should have been perfectly satisfied, but I wasn’t.

I decided to have some leftover ice cream cake with everyone thinking it would do the trick – no such luck.

Another little handful of cashews and couple of chocolate covered raisins made their way into my belly.  Still not full yet.

Of course I wasn’t getting full off of cashews and chocolate covered raisins.  I should have known better than to mindlessly eat that stuff right after dinner and cake.  For some reason though, I just kept wanting more.  I stopped myself with the intention of buying a snack at the movie theater if I was still feeling unsatisfied.

Well buy a snack at the movie theater I did.  Mike and I (attempted) to split a BUCKET of buttered and salted popcorn.  This tub was huge and we dug in by the handful.  Somehow, though, we didn’t even make a dent in it!!

If you know me, you know that sweet and salty is my favorite combination.  So naturally, after I was finished with the popcorn, I had a box of Pretzel M&Ms.  I had not had these guys in 6 months.  They. Were. Delicious.

At the end of it all, I felt terribly overstuffed and the guilt started setting in.  My mind raced with worries that went a little like this:

Oh no, I just undid all of my great results I worked so hard for.

I definitely just gained 5lbs, I just know it.

There’s no way I’m fitting into my cute jean shorts tomorrow.

I’m going to have to workout double time this week to make up for the nonsense I just pulled.

Alex, WHY did you let that happen??

Normal feelings of tremendous guilt.  Well guess what?

I didn’t undo any results.

I still weigh what I weighed yesterday morning.

My cute jean shorts still fit.  I’m wearing them right now.

I ran 5 miles this morning, not 10.

I let “this” happen because I listened to my appetite and gave in to the cravings on a special date night with my husband.  Movie theater food is part of the “going to the movies” experience that I never do anyhow.  I wasn’t about to sit there and forbid myself the fun treats that everyone else got to eat.

I told myself that it was okay to have a night of indulgence.  I also said to myself that I would move on, continue my usual healthy eating habits and workout routine in the morning like I always do and ultimately I forced the obsessive thoughts out of my head.  I enjoyed the movie and the date like a normal person who doesn’t constantly keep thoughts about their body and weight in the back of their head 24 hours per day.

I’m getting better and better at this every time the occasional overindulgence hits me hard.  The last time it happened was as recently as last week at the grad party where I ate cake and cookies for dessert.  Before that it was at a wedding a month ago where I had two more cocktails than I had originally planned.  The time before that was at my friend’s graduation in May.

The point I’m trying to make is this:  we ALL overdo it now and then.  Parties and special occasions revolve around family, friends and good eats.  I believe that it’s in those instances that we should eat what our heart desires and enjoy it to the fullest – not stress about it.  Stressing out about something like indulging will only make you feel like a crazy person in the long run.  Trust me on this one – I’ve been there, done that, and still working on it to this day.  If the vast majority of your diet consists of clean whole foods and you truly get good exercise on a very consistent basis, then the occasional overindulgence is not going to break you.  It’s just not.

So here’s to another fabulous day visiting with family.  Here’s to the laughs and good times shared by all.  Here’s to good food and better conversation.  Here’s to the continuing journey in becoming truly comfortable in my own skin.  Here’s to being healthy and happy.

3 thoughts on “My Take on Overindulging

  1. Great post Alex – glad you liked the casserole and I may try some of your improvisions. Yes you can find pimento’s in a jar – they should be near the olives, or last I bought them they were but that was quite a while – your posts are fun to read!!

Leave a Reply

