Doubling It Up!


Shhh… do you hear that?  You don’t?  It’s the sound of silence.  This, in my book, is also known as sweet, glorious naptime.  And for me, naptime = blog time so let’s get cracking!

Last night I experimented in the kitchen a little with cod that I bought from BJ’s the other day.  And so, as promised, a baked cod sandwich and side of homemade sweet potato fries recipe awaits you.

I breaded the cod in a little bit of whole wheat flour and crushed a few Back to Nature Poppy Thyme crackers.  These crackers have a very distinctive taste – a little salty and a lot savory.  I figured it would add a unique flavor to the cod – and it was a success!

In a 350 degree preheated oven, I baked the breaded cod on a lightly greased baking sheet alongside sweet potato wedges.  To prepare the fries, I first zapped the whole potato in the microwave on my “potato” setting for about 4 minutes to soften it up.  I then let it cool a little bit so that I could easily handle it with my fingers without getting burned.  I sliced it up into wedges, put them all on the baking sheet and seasoned them generously with salt and pepper.

Into the oven it all went for exactly 20 minutes.  I then threw the cod on a whole wheat hamburger bun loaded with lettuce, tomato and red onion.

This sandwich was absolutely delicious.  It was JUST what I had in mind when I had the idea.  The sweet potato fries were perfectly seasoned and baked beautifully.  They lacked that greasy taste that I so despise when getting them at restaurants.  The fish was moist and flaky but not in the least bit dry.

This dish was so easy to make and was visually appealing, which I love… especially when snapping pictures for the blog!

The weather this morning was perfect running weather.  It was a little chilly (my phone said 63 degrees!) for the month of July but I welcomed it with open arms… and a HAT which helped tremendously with that “head cold” feeling.  My 4 ½ mile run went smoothly and quickly as did the shoulders, arms and abs routine that followed.

Breakfast was an old favorite of mine:  2 slices of whole wheat toast topped with a layer of sweet red pepper hummus, a healthy slice of a large tomato and an egg white omelet chock full of veggies (red/yellow/green peppers & onions) to top it all off.

While the egg whites (1 cup) and veggies were cooking low and slow on the stove I toasted the whole wheat bread and spread about a tbsp. of hummus on each slice.  I then sliced up a large tomato and added it to the toast.

When the omelet was cooked through I added it to the toast and seasoned with a pinch of salt and pepper.  I just love this breakfast.  It’s jam-packed with protein from the eggs, nutrients from the veggies, good carbs from the toast and healthy fats and excellent flavor from the hummus.

An excellent recovery breakfast!

I meant to share a picture of my hot cup of coffee which so nicely accompanied my breakfast that I flavored with a splash of French vanilla coconut creamer but it disappeared before I could snap a pic.

Yummm

Tonight we are celebrating my mother-in-law’s birthday!  Her actual birthday is tomorrow but with friends and family in town and scheduled to leave tomorrow, they decided to throw her a nice dinner party tonight which we are fortunately able to attend.  After running to the grocery with Keira to pick up some necessary ingredients, we made a Whole-Grain Zucchini Apple Bread which I came across on cleaneatingmag.com a while ago.  I’ve made it before a number of times just as the recipe suggests but today I did something a little different which I’ll note below.

Ingredients:

Olive oil cooking spray

1 ¼ cups whole-wheat flour

¼ cup spelt flour

2 tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. baking soda

½ tbsp. ground cinnamon

¼ tsp. salt

2/3 cup of apple, grated – I grated one whole granny smith apple

1 cup zucchini, grated – I grated one whole zucchini

1 egg

½ cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

¼ cup raw honey – I thought I had honey in the house!  I substituted with about 2 tbsp. sugar and a handful of white chocolate chips!

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and mist a loaf pan with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; set aside.

In a separate bowl, whisk together apple, zucchini, egg, yogurt and honey sugar.  Fold in white chocolate chips.

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and fold until just combined.  Spread batter into prepared pan and bake until golden brown, 40-45 minutes.

And since it is for my mother-in-law on her birthday, I wrapped it up with a pretty blue dish towel and matching ribbon.

The beauty of this bread is that it can be breakfast, a snack or even dessert.  I personally love it warmed up with a spoonful of peanut butter smeared on top.  I’ve even crumbled it up in yogurt which is a real treat.

As I sit here and write this, I am devouring a spectacular lunch of a (double!!) veggie burger with lettuce, tomato, red onion and ketchup.  I managed to snap a picture before going to town on it.  I also enjoyed a side of steamed asparagus and zucchini as well as a handful of sweet baby carrots (I eat A LOT of carrots don’t I?).

I decided to double it up this time because I’m trying to incorporate more calories into my diet by just eating more of what I have been eating.  I’m not about to eat junk food just to get my calorie count up.  I’m trying to maintain my weight at this point and so eating more GOOD calories should do the trick.  And come on, who are we kidding?  Those veggie burgers are tiny!

I’m really looking forward to this evening’s events.  My mother-in-law is such a great person and she deserves a dinner party in her honor.  Her sisters are great cooks and so tonight will be full of good food and lots of laughs.  Until then I’ll be packing up my stuff and cleaning my house!  See ya later!

4 thoughts on “Doubling It Up!

  1. You are quite talented with this stuff Alex – I enjoy reading this and you are inspiring me to eat healthier!! Thank you.

  2. I love the way you’re so comfortable with improvising in the kitchen…that’s what makes some of the best cooks! That cod sandwich looks delish. Don’t you just love meals that come together on one baking sheet in 20 minutes?

    Good for you on doubling up! Weight loss is a slippery slope because it’s tempting to just keep going. It’s counterintuitive to eat more than you’re used to, but your bod (and metabolism!) will thank you for it, especially with all the strength training you do.

    Ps. that bread looks amazing! I loooove quick breads that aren’t quite sweet enough for dessert and perfect for breakfast – especially with a schmear of cream cheese 😉

    Happy Friday!

  3. Pingback: An Abs Routine & Old Faithful Breakfast |

  4. Pingback: I’m Pretty Boring But Lemon Bars Aren’t |

Leave a Reply

