Home Sweet Home


I’m finally back home in my own house with my own stuff in my own bed.  I love going to my parents’ house to visit, especially when Mike is working these crazy late hours and I never get to see him.  It saves me from being alone the entire time (with the exception of my little sidekick to keep me busy).  This only happens once every few months for Mike’s job but I still haven’t really gotten used to how busy he is around that time and how much I miss him throughout.

By the time he came home last night, I felt like I hadn’t seen him in weeks.  It was a LONG weekend full of family and fun but also packed with feelings of missing my guy.  I wish he were there with me to enjoy the family parties, boat trips, and typical summer activities that were all jam-packed into the weekend.

For instance, it would have been really nice to have him around with me yesterday when I spent the afternoon at his parents’ house.  For some reason, I feel a sense of guilt hanging out there and having fun without him.  I felt like he should have been there with his family (who are in town from all over the place) more than I needed to be.  Regardless, it was a nice afternoon and Keira got to swim and play with her cousins.

I packed myself a delicious salad of romaine, pecans, goat cheese, strawberries and blueberries.  I dressed it with lite raspberry vinaigrette and it hit the spot paired with a veggie burger (not pictured).

Packed away in my nifty little transportable salad container I got from Mike's mama.

I also made up a quick fruit salad to bring over.  It was cold and refreshing, sweet and tangy – all at once.  A perfect side dish to compliment any and every meal in the summer time.

Strawberries, blueberries and nectarines!

Needless to say, I slept like a baby in my own bed next to Mike.  I felt more refreshed when my alarm went off than I have in a while this morning.  I happily laced up and hit the pavement at 5:15 AM.  I had planned on going a 6 or 6 1/2 mile run this morning but decided to shorten it to 4 1/2 – partly because it was so disgustingly humid, but mostly so that I had enough time to workout my shoulders, arms and abs when I got back.

I took a shower, got Keira ready for the day, kissed Mike goodbye and dug into a bowl of overnight oats which left me feeling full and happy until lunch time.  That’s the beauty of overnight oats – they are filling but don’t leave you feeling like you’ve overdone it.  They linger around in your belly but don’t ruin your appetite for when the lunch hour strikes.

And speaking of lunch – it was splendid today.  I decided to use two cans of tuna in my sandwich instead of just one.  I am trying to maintain my weight at this point and so I’ve been adding calories to my meals just by eating bigger portions of what I was eating before when I was trying to lose weight.  Let me tell you – two cans of tuna was A LOT for one person.  I’m still going through a learning process with all of this.  I think I know my body and then it surprises me!  I was super full after this – more so than I would have liked to be.  Maybe next time I will try just one and a half.  I am pretty stuffed, even still, and I ate this sandwich a long while ago.  Just look at this monster!!

Tuna mixed with red pepper hummus, lettuce, tomato, red onion on whole wheat toast!

I’m planning on a light dinner tonight of a little rice and a lot of vegetables.  I’m thinking wheat pilaf with steamed asparagus, zucchini, broccoli and carrots.  Maybe I’ll throw on a little teriyaki to liven it up a bit!

And on that note, Keira and I are going to relish in this A/C and work on her princess puzzle!  Keep cool, everyone 🙂

One thought on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Pingback: Listen To Your Body |

Leave a Reply

