Confusion and a Happy Ending


Well today was a day full of confusion but ultimately ended up alright.  It was supposed to be a whole lot more exciting but that’s okay – tomorrow will certainly make up for it.  I’ll explain…

First off let’s go over the fact that I just finally received the book I ordered in the mail and I couldn’t be more excited!!  It just came out and I couldn’t find it anywhere in stores and so I ordered it from Borders.com.  After a little confusion with Borders and FedEx, it arrived safely on my doorstep.  I’ve already started reading it and I’ll be sure to post a review of it once I’m finished.

As usual, I began my day with the same 4-mile run that I did yesterday and rounded out my workout with 25 minutes of lifting and 15 minutes of abs.  For breakfast I thoroughly enjoyed a bowl of PB&J overnight oats.  This is probably my very favorite breakfast of all time.  It is perfection in a bowl.  I got the recipe from my good friend Evan at Chocolate and Chaturangas only I tweaked it a little bit to my liking.  I highly recommend you head over to her page to see the real deal – she’s a genius.

Pre-stir. This picture just does NOT do it justice, I swear.

Last night I measured out a serving of old fashioned rolled oats (1/2 cup) along with 1 1/2 cups of water.  I zapped it in the microwave for about 3 minutes, on and off, because it starts bubbling over if it’s in for too long.  I let it rest on the counter and come to room temp before putting foil over the top and placing it in the fridge overnight.

This morning I added a container (5.3 oz) of Dannon Greek Nonfat Vanilla Yogurt and a sprinkle of vanilla instant pudding mix.  I stirred it up really well and put it back in the fridge to set for a few minutes.

I then scooped a generous spoonful of peanut butter and raspberry jam in there, swirled it all around and put it back into the fridge again to chill.

The end result is 100% worth the wait, believe me.  It’s a beautiful thing.

But seriously, go to Evan’s page – she does a far better job of photographing her overnight oats so you’ll believe me that they’re downright fantastic.

Back to my story about my super special plans crashing and burning.  Keira and I were supposed to meet Jackie (my sister-in-law) and her kiddos that she nannies for over at a really cool dinosaur park.  Now the problem was that I knew of a dinosaur park and Jackie knew of a totally different dinosaur park.  So yes, we each went to different parks and didn’t know it.  Why not someone just drive over to where the other one was?  Because they were over an hour away apart from one another PLUS it would be another hour and a half drive to get home!!  Not to mention nap time would surely be out of the question and that just was not going to happen – especially with the jam-packed weekend ahead of us.

So I decided just to drive back to my parents house, which I was planning on going to after the park anyhow, because Mike will be a working machine the next few days.  Poor guy and I miss him already.

Lunch was… wait for it… the summer salad again(!!!) and some leftover salmon.  Are you sick of hearing about it and looking at pictures of this salad yet?  I’m not sick of eating it yet so have fun reading and looking!

This lunch definitely improved my mood and what also helped was a visit from probably my oldest friend Emily.  It was great to catch up with her because she just got back from a European trip and I hadn’t seen her since her grad party earlier in the summer.

My day is getting even more bright because one of my very best friends ever in the world is here for dinner.  I lurve her and missed her and now she’s here so I gots ta run!  Catch ya later 🙂

5 thoughts on “Confusion and a Happy Ending

  1. Awww, thanks for the shout out, Alex! You totally do the O.O’s justice…and your version looks absolutely delicious. I swear, I could eat them every day!

    PS: I like what you’ve done with the place! (your blog). It makes me happy. Kind of like mom’s meatloaf. 😉

  2. I DEFINITELY could eat them every day but only do around 3-4x/week. Tastes more like dessert… mmmm. Thanks – I lurve this blog and I’m having so much fun with it. Yours is great too — I read it daily 🙂

  3. I also did not know that there are multiple dinosaur parks in CT, if it makes you feel any better 🙂

    In the words of Keira, “you siwy biwys”

  4. Pingback: My Take on Overindulging |

  5. Pingback: I’m Pretty Boring But Lemon Bars Aren’t |

Leave a Reply

