Stocking Up For My Honey


It was a HOT one today, folks which is all the more reason to love getting up bright and early and knocking out a good run in the cool (but humid) morning air.  Today I ran just over 4 miles and tacked on a Kenpo X routine along with abs.  I worked up a good sweat and felt super energized when I was finished.

When Mike left for work I whipped up a breakfast burrito for myself which accompanied my delicious cup of coffee with a splash of coconut creamer.  I’ve never made this before but had a craving for something a little different.  I kind of just threw some ingredients together and what came out was surprisingly better than I had expected it to be.

1 Whole wheat wrap

1 cup of egg whites

½ cup of peppers

¼ red onion, chopped

¼ cup black beans

A small handful of broccoli

Salt, pepper and cumin, to taste

1 tbsp. Red pepper hummus

I first heated up my pan and sprayed with a little cooking spray.  I sautéed the peppers and onions for a few minutes until they were a little soft.  Then I added the black beans and broccoli.  When everything was nice and warm I added the egg whites and seasoned to my liking with the salt, pepper and cumin.  While everything was cooking up (stirring occasionally) I took out my wrap and spread the hummus on it.  When the egg mixture was cooked through and steaming I added it to the wrap and rolled it all up.

It wouldn’t all fit so I had some on the side!!

Keira sat next to me and enjoyed a banana for breakfast while watching some morning cartoons.  Actually, I believe that was her second banana of the morning.  She’s bananas for bananas.

Next Keira and I got started on some good eats for Mike.  He’ll be working all sorts of crazy long hours the next few days and so I plan on going to my and his parents’ house for a couple of those days so I’m not all by my lonesome 😦

First up:  Baked ziti.

This is a really easy recipe.  I’ve been making it for so long that I can’t remember where I first came across it but it’s one of those quick and easy meals you can throw together last minute and everyone is happy.

Ingredients:

½ box of the pasta of your choice

About half a jar of marinara sauce

½ lb ground beef

Provolone cheese, thinly sliced

About ½ cup sour cream

About 1 cup mozzarella cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain, rinse and set aside.

Prepare your baking dish by spooning enough marinara sauce into it to cover the bottom.  This prevents the pasta from sticking to the dish once it’s all baked.

Brown and drain ground beef in a pan over medium heat.  Add marinara sauce to your liking – about as much as you would use if you were to ladle it over a bowl of pasta – probably something like half a jar.

Add half of the pasta to your baking dish and layer the rest of the ingredients as follows:

Provolone cheese

Sour cream

Meat sauce

The rest of the cooked pasta

The rest of the meat sauce

Mozzarella cheese

Bake it for about 30 minutes until the mozzarella cheese on top is all melty.  And there you have it – a simple and tasty meal in a matter of minutes.  It’s easy to re-heat, too.  You can either warm it up in the microwave or, for a more even-temp throughout, throw it back into the oven set at 350 degrees for a good 10 minutes or so and it will taste just like it did when you took it out of the oven the first time.  You can even store this meal in the freezer and take it out for emergencies when you just have nothing else in the house to make!

Next up on Mike’s menu for the weekend is a bacon cheeseburger – his FAVORITE meal of ALL TIME.  Whenever we go out to eat – he gets a bacon cheeseburger.   Every.  Single.  Time.  He always asks for pepper jack cheese when we go out and so even though we have a ton of American cheese around, I bought some pepper jack just to make him smile.  Maybe his work week will fly by because of it, who knows?!

All this cooking left Keira and I feeling a little hungry so we shared a honey nut rice cake with some peanut butter on top – a great staple to hold us over until lunch time.

Lunch today was one that should look a little familiar to you… I’ve only had it about 2309230985 times in the past week but what’s wrong with that?  Nada.

A veggie burger, handful of sweet baby carrots and a summery side salad (the one with the poppy seed dressing!!) danced in my belly and left me feeling perfectly satisfied and happy.  How could it not?  Just LOOK at this fine spread!!

Do you think there's enough lettuce, tomato & onion on there??

I was feeling a light dinner tonight.  I decided on a simple vegetable stir fry in teriyaki sauce with a little leftover salmon and couscous from last night.  It was crunchy, salty, super flavorful, light and summery.

This recipe made a very large portion – It filled me up to my ears!!  Next time I think I might use it as a side instead of one big dish but nonetheless, it hit the spot and was just what I had in mind for dinna tonight.

½ cup couscous

½ cup drained and rinsed black beans

One whole green bell pepper, chopped

About ¼ red onion

A good handful of baby carrots, finely chopped

½ cup broccoli

1-2 tbsp. Teriyaki sauce

About 2 oz salmon

All I did was add alllll the ingredients to a medium sauce pan and just heated it all through for a few minutes.  Nothing to it, but it packed a big veggie punch!  Loving ittttt.

To top it all off this evening, I enjoyed 2 watermelon wedges for dessert.

It was the perfect sweet to go with my salty dinner.  What a great summertime meal tonight!!  For Mike I made basically the same thing only instead of salmon, he gets chicken.  Can’t wait until he gets home to enjoy some good eats and snugs!!  Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

