Happy 4th o’ July


I hope everyone is enjoying their 4th of July as much as I am today.  What gorgeous weather to compliment such a special afternoon.

I kick started my day with a vigorous 6 ½ mile run which took me an hour and 5 minutes.  I went at a steady pace and never once felt tuckered out.  Maybe all the delicious food last night was what kept me feeling energized throughout.  Unfortunately I didn’t snap any photos of the spread.  I really should have, considering it was probably one of the best picnic dinners I’ve ever had but I was SO hungry by the time food was ready that I just ate it all up before grabbing my camera.  Oh well.  I’ve got some good ones to show you from today to make up for it!

Breakfast timmmeee!!

I made some breakfast for the fam: scrambled eggs with cheese, Canadian bacon and a toasted and buttered English muffins for Mike and Dad.  Mom and I each had 2 of these beauties:

Egg white omelet chock full of red peppers, red onions and spinach.

First I chopped up all the veggies and sautéed them on a nonstick pan.

Into the pan went the egg whites that were cooked super low and slow.  No one likes the taste of burnt egg whites.  Totally worth the wait, too!

Don’t forget to season it all up with the usual salt ‘n peppa.

I folded it up all nice and pretty and threw it on two slices of whole wheat toast slathered with red pepper hummus.

When our bellies were full we decided to pack up some lunches and head out to my parents’ boat for the rest of the afternoon.  My poor husband had to work from home today (yes, on the 4th of July… BOO!) but since we all promised Keira a boat ride yesterday that was cancelled due to bad weather, we thought it would be nice to take advantage of the sun today and soak it all up.

Mom and Keira on our way to the marina!

I just had to take a picture of these flowers – how gorgeous are they?  If I didn’t feel guilty about stealing them think I would get caught taking them , they’d be in a vase in my bedroom by now..

Mom and Keira made their way to the boat…

… And Keira made herself quite comfortable in her special pink chair.

Look who got to be captain for about 5 minutes before Dad came back to take over.

After about an hour and a half of cruising around, we headed back to shore for a lunch break.  I had packed myself a veggie burger on a whole wheat English muffin (do you think I might turn into one after having about 3 this week?) with a side of baby carrots and a delicious summer salad made of romaine lettuce, strawberries, blueberries, goat cheese and walnuts with a poppy seed dressing.

I’ve GOT to get the recipe from my mom’s friend who made this.  SO good.

Close up of the deliciousness I speak of.

We finished off our excursion with a quick dip in the pool where Omi and Papa tried to teach K how to swim.

Although we had a great afternoon I was eager to get back to my parents house and see Mike.  What a bummer that he had to work while everyone else got to play.  But that’s one of the many things I love about him – how focused and hardworking he is, even if it is 82 degrees and sunny on the 4th of July.

Picture quality = womp womp. Meal = MMMmmm.

We all enjoyed a nice dinner of grilled chicken, baked sweet potatoes and leftover salad (the same one I had at lunch – wow, I could eat that at every meal).  My dad makes the absolute best grilled chicken on the planet.  As mentioned in another post, I typically stay away from meat for the most part but I do have it on occasion.  Tonight was one of those occasions!  I really could never resist this chicken.  He marinates it in yoshida sauce and cooks it to perfection every single time.  Combine it with a big summer salad and I’m a very happy camper.

This weekend was one very well spent.  There really is nothing like being with family and friends celebrating this beautiful country of ours.  I hope everyone enjoyed their festivities as well.  So long, for now!

2 thoughts on “Happy 4th o’ July

  1. What a wonderful post! I love all the pictures – except me from the back …… and as usual the food looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

