Lunch Fit for a Vegetarian Queen


While I don’t consider myself a true vegetarian, I do stick to a vegetarian diet the vast majority of the time.  I try to stay away from meat as much as possible because it usually just makes me feel blah after eating it.  I do, however, consume fish – and lots of it.  Poultry and especially red meat are rarely seen on my plate but they do end up there from time to time.

With that being said… I loooove my veggies!  Veggies keep me feeling healthy and energized and so I try to get lots of ’em at every single meal.  I aim to make it the main star of the dish.  Today’s lunch was almost all veggies.  I present to you the kind of vegetarian meal that might make the typical meat-eater’s mouth water like mad.

A veggie burger on a whole wheat bun from Trader Joe’s with (lots of) lettuce, tomato, red onions and ketchup paired with a homemade vegetable fried rice made of whole wheat rice pilaf, black beans, peppers, onions, broccoli and carrots with a touch of teriyaki sauce.  Do you think there are enough vegetables in this lunch?

First, I preheated my oven to 350 degrees.  I then threw all the ingredients for the fried rice into a small pot on the stove over medium heat.  I had rice and beans leftover from a couple meals the other day and so I thought I’d put them to good use.  I mixed it all up until it was nice and steamy while the veggie burger was cooking in the oven.  I just put it in there for about 5 or 6 minutes on each side, toasted my bun and threw it all together.  It.  Was.  Magnificent.

I could literally eat this every day.  I’m fairly certain my palate would never get bored of this meal.  Give it a try!!  Or better yet, offer it to a carnivore in your fam and see how they like it 😉

Leave a Reply

