4th of July Coconut Macaroons


Don’t you just love the 4th of July?  It’s the epitome of summertime.  It’s grilling, watermelon, strawberries, blueberries, ANY berries, paper plates and plastic forks, lemonade, sunshine.. and who could forget the treats??

Coconut reminds me of summertime.  It is so fresh and not too sweet – such a perfect flavor.  This weekend my family has lots of 4th of July festivities planned and so Keira and I took it upon ourselves to make these plans just a tad sweeter with homemade macaroons adorned with semi-sweet and white chocolate.  Keira went a crazy with the design on top and they ended up coming out just right.

I followed the directions for making macaroons on the back of the package of Baker’s Angel Flake Coconut with a few exceptions:

1.  Instead of using 2/3 c sugar like the recipe calls for, I only used 1/3 c.  The coconut is already sweetened and sugar is not my favorite ingredient to work with so I cut that in half.

2.  I used whole wheat flour in place of all-purpose flour.

3.  I didn’t have any almond extract on hand so I substituted vanilla extract in place of the almond.

While the macaroons were baking, I used a double boiler to start heating up a heaping 1/4 c. of mini semi-sweet chocolate morsels on low-medium heat.  To give the chocolate a nice shine, I added just a few drops of canola oil to the melted chocolate.  When the macaroons were finished baking and cooling, I dipped each one in to the chocolate and lined them up on the cooled baking sheet.  Into the refrigerator they went for about 20 or 30 minutes to set.

While they were setting in the fridge I began melting a little less than 1/4 c. white chocolate chip morsels.  Again, I added just a little canola oil to give it a glossy look.  When the chocolate covered macaroons were chilled, I dipped each one into the white chocolate mixture carefully so as not to completely cover the original chocolate coating.  When I finished those up they all went back into the fridge to set while I got started on melting some more white chocolate in two separate bowls.  This was Keira’s favorite part – we added red food coloring to one bowl of melted white chocolate and blue food coloring to the other bowl.  Keira then (with my help) dipped a fork into the red chocolate first and waved it all over the macaroons.  Next came the blue chocolate and voila!  The most patriotic chocolate-covered macaroons I’ve ever seen!

Have a safe and happy 4th of July weekend, all!

Leave a Reply

